Is nothing what it seems? Britney Spears Circus Fantasy Review

I have always been a Chanel 5 addict; I like timeless luxury.

Last summer I went on a short beach holiday and I only bought hand luggage. I only have 100ml perfumes which I couldn’t carry in my cabin bag, so decided to buy a fragrance from the airline boutique.

Moschino Pink Bouquet caught my attention: flirty bottle, pink colour (this is obviously super important, I like everything to be pink, white or gold) and there was some promotion, so it only cost me 20 euros for a 100 ml bottle. There were no testers available, I did not know how it smelled, but I decided that I can always give it to my grandma if I dislike it.

I tried it immediately after we landed and – hey! I was so surprised! It was a pretty good fragrance! Flirty, floral, fresh, almost tasty. I will review it in a separate post.

So the Moschino Pink Bouquet incident is when I decided I will not be a perfume snob anymore, and will explore other fragrances.

8011003807888

 

Today I will tell you about my newest fragrance which really puzzled me; for a couple of days I could not make up my mind about how I feel about it.

Circus Fantasy Review

A little bit of context

Britney Spears Circus Fantasy is a fragrance created by pop star Britney Spears and Elizabeth Arden. The fragrance was released in 2009 and was inspired by Britney’s Circus album and tour.

There’s only two types of people in this world

The ones that entertain, and the ones that observe.

Remember Britney descending from the sky? I have watched the Yahoo video too many times since 2009! A truly amazing, inspiring, fearless spectacle.

Circus Fantasy Review

Circus Fantasy is a poised, cool, ice-queen fragrance. It really is. I have the original Fantasy and I thought this one would be similar- well, I couldn’t be more wrong! Circus Fantasy is not sweet, I would certainly describe it as cool, soapy and elegant fragrance.

Top notes include sweet and juicy raspberry and delicate apricot blossom.

The heart is comprised of blue peony along with lotus and orchid.

The sensual but girlish base notes include vanilla, musk and violet candy.

Fragrance Experience

The experience of the fragrance for me is like going to bed in very clean, cool, crisp sheets on a warm summer day.

Price

I bought 100 ml Eau de Parfum for £19

Circus Fantasy vs Fantasy

They are very different. Circus Fantasy is definitely more grown-up and fresh. It doesn’t have a celebrity fragrance smell. People wouldn’t suspect it’s a celebrity fragrance.

Fantasy is warm, funny and sweet, more of a girly, teenage smell.*

*Suitable for teenage girls of all ages 😛

Reminds me of…

Circus Fantasy reminds me of a men’s fragrance (perhaps a hint of Chanel Blue?). It also has a bit of Nivea men shaving foam scent, in a cool way.

Verdict: sophisticated, clean and fresh

I read a lot of reviews before buying the fragrance, and I expected something very different (sweet and gourmand). I sprayed it behind my ears and on my wrists after a shower and it just put me in a tranquil mood. It kinda says, “Begin again!”. It helps me offload all the drama of the day. It also reminds me of lavender for some reason, even though it’s not listed on the notes list.

Circus Fantasy is sophisticated, it’s subtle and very clean. It’s like Britney Spears Curious, minus the sweetness.

I think the fragrance is suitable for daytime wear, for work or shopping. It’s winter now in London and I think Circus Fantasy is more suitable for warm days.

What do you think of Britney Spears Circus Fantasy?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

